Previous Recipients of the Crystal Award

Jose Antonio ABREU, 2009

Conductor

Vladimir ASHKENAZY, 1995

Pianist and conductor

Margaret ATWOOD, 2010

Author

Shabani AZMI, 2006

Actress and social activist

Amitabh BACHCHAN, 2009

Actor and director

Shigeru BAN, 2015

Architect

Luc BESSON, 2012

Filmmaker

Andrea BOCELLI, 2015

Tenor and Singer-songwriter

BONO, 2002

Singer

Mario BOTTA, 1996

Architect

Wissam BOUSTANY, 1998

Flautist

José CARRERAS, 2011

Opera singer

Yvonne CHAKA CHAKA, 2012

Singer

CHEN Kaige, 1996

Film director

YAO Chen. 2016

Actress

CHRISTO & JEANNE-CLAUDE, 1995

Artist-engineers

Paulo COELHO, 1999

Author

Matt DAMON, 2014

Actor and co-founder, Water.org

Leonardo DICAPRIO, 2016

Actor and founder, Leonardo DiCaprio

Foundation Film

Michael DOUGLAS, 2006

Director, producer and actor

Umberto ECO, 2000

Writer, historian and philosopher

Olafur ELIASSON, 2016

Artist

Hans ERNI, 1999

Artist

Ivan FISCHER, 1998

Conductor

Juan Diego FLOREZ, 2014

Tenor and Founder, Sinfonia por el Peru

Peter GABRIEL, 2001

Singer, songwriter and musician

Theaster GATES, 2020

Artist

Richard GERE, 2005

Actor and President, Gere Foundation

Valery GERGIEV, 2004

Artistic & General Director, Mariinsky Theatre Gilberto GIL, 2006

Musician and Minister of Culture

Nadine GORDIMER, 1995

Author

Barbara HENDRICKS, 1995

Soprano

Ikuo HIRAYAMA, 1995

Painter

Tao HO, 1997

Architect and artist

Jenny HOLZER, 1996

Artist

Ibrahim HUSSEIN, 1997

Painter and calligrapher

Quincy JONES, 2000

Producer, composer, musician

Sumet JUMSAI, 1999

Architect and painter

Udo JURGENS, 2010

Singer and composer

Dani KARAVAN, 1995

Sculptor

Amjad Ali KHAN, 1997

Composer and sarod player

Angelique KIDJO, 2015

Singer-songwriter

Lang Lang, 2010

Pianist

James LEVINE, 2003

Conductor and Artistic Director

Jet LI, 2009

Acto

Julian LLOYD WEBBER, 1998

Cellist

Yo-Yo MA, 2008

Cellist

Amin MAALOUF, 2000

Writer and historian

Lorin MAAZEL, 2014

Conductor and musician

Richard MEIER, 1995

Architect

Lord MENUHIN, 1995

Violinist and conductor

MIDORI, 2012

Violinist

Nikita MIKHALKOV, 1996

Film director

Es'kia MPHAHLELE, 1998

Writer

Vik MUNIZ, 2013

Artist

Anne-Sophie MUTTER, 2017

Violinist

Youssou N'DOUR, 2001

Musician and singer

Shirin NESHAT, 2014

Artist

NOA, 1998

Singer and songwriter

Sharmeen OBAID-CHINOY, 2013

Documentary filmmaker

Ben OKRI, 1995

Author and poet

Julia ORMOND, 2003

Actress & co-chair, FilmAid Int'I

Deepika PADUKONE, 2020

Actress and fashion icon

Krzysztof PENDERECKI, 1997

Composer and conductor

Sidney POITIER, 2002

Actor, director and producer

Lord PUTTNAM, 1997 Film producer

A. R. RAHMAN, 2011

Film composer, musician and singer

Lionel RICHIE, 2005

Musician

SHAKIRA, 2017

Singer and Songwriter

Mallika SARABHAI, 2009

Artist and activist

Jorge SEMPRUN, 1999 Writer

Ravi SHANKAR, 1996

Sitarist and composer

Rodion SHCHEDRIN, 1995

Composer

Anant SINGH, 2001

Film producer

Wole SOYINKA, 1995 Poet and playwright

Frank STELLA, 1995

i airitei

Oliver STONE, 1995

Director, writer and producer

TAN Swie Hian, 2003 Painter, poet, philosopher, author

Charlize THERON, 2013

Actor

Emma THOMSON, 2008

Actor and writer

Mario VARGAS LLOSA, 2001

Author

Maxim VENGEROV, 2007

Lynette WALLWORTH, 2020

Forest WHITAKER, 2017

Artist and Social Activist Elie WIESEL, 1995

Elle vv

will.i.am. 2016

Musician

Jin XING, 2020 Choreographer

Benjamin ZANDER, 1999

Conductor